Language
Member Login
#IS12129

Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik downtown.

Reykjavik downtown.

Reykjavik downtown.
Open for exchange
Silver
Calendar

Member since

2012
Exchange dates Duration
June 24, 2018 - August 06, 2018

Summer 2018 2-3 weeks.

2 weeks
December 22, 2018 - January 02, 2019

Christmas and New Year 2018-2019

12 days

Velkomin til Íslands!

We live in Reykjavik, the capital of Iceland. We live in a quiet neighbourhood in an apartment on the fourth floor (top floor) with balcony about 20 minutes on foot from downtown Reykjavik (5 minutes by bus - the bus stops almost right outside our house). The apartment is 110 m² and consists of a living room, a well equipped kitchen, a study with a sofa bed (for two), a bathroom with a bathtub/shower and a washing machine and two bedrooms (one with a queen size bed, the other with a single bed). There are public swimming pools nearby, both indoor and outdoor, both with outdoor hot tubs. There is a shopping mall called Kringlan about 7-10 minutes away on foot (you can see it from our kitchen window), grocery stores, a few restaurants and a very good fishmonger close by. There is a nice little park called Klambratún on the other side of the street. In the park there is an art museum with a very good café. Downtown Reykjavik you will find a wide selection of restaurants and cafés.  
 
We have a 5-seater Renault Captur available to exchange. There is also a computer available for you to use and free WiFi. There is a gas BBQ unit on the balcony that you are free to use. Smoking is not allowed inside, so please use the balcony in case you are smokers.

You can visit many of Iceland's natural wonders (such as hot springs, glaciers, waterfalls) on a day tour from Reykjavík either by car or by taking an organised tour. You can reach many of them in 30-90 minutes by car.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want any information about Iceland. 

Some useful links:

http://www.grayline.is
http://www.visiticeland.com
http://www.bluelagoon.is
http://www.visitreykjavik.is
http://www.re.is

And before you come visit us in Iceland, you should learn The Hardest Karaoke Song in the World! :-)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f88UJyCA__M

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Linguist
  • Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 4
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Cyprus
  • Greece
  • Croatia
  • Morocco
  • Republic of Montenegro
  • Turkey
  • South Africa
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Frankrike
  • Languedoc-Roussillon, Frankrike
  • Andalusien, Spanien
  • Kraków, Poland
  • Warsaw, Poland
  • London, UK
  • Gotland, Sweden
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Albania
  • Serbia
  • Macedonia (FYROM)
  • Asia
  • South America
  • Costa Rica

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dansk
  • Islenska
  • Norsk
  • Svenska

Occupation

  • Linguist
  • Teacher

Children

  • Girl - Age: 14

Pets

  • We do not have pets.
Join us or Start free trial